Welterweight Lloyd Germain eager to kick-start career with professional debut victory

Cardiff-born welterweight Lloyd Germain is eager to kick-start his career with a victory on his professional debut.

Germain will go head-to-head with Yorkshireman Danny Little at Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Centre on Saturday evening.

The 28-year-old, who is trained by Tony Borg in Newport’s St Joseph’s gym, is hoping to make his mark as a successful professional boxer.

It has been an eagerly awaited first bout for Germain, who is looking to kick-start his pro career in style.

44505645_10156416982026418_7724244063309791232_n.jpg
Germain with his son Rome and two-time featherweight world champion Lee Selby.

“I’m relishing the opportunity,” said Germain.

“It’s going to be the start of something very special and I can’t wait to get in there and showcase my skills.

“I’m in the shape of my life and just need to put everything I’ve learned into practice.”

He signed a three-year contract with Sanigar Events in February earlier this year.

And trains alongside two-time featherweight world champion Lee Selby, allowing him to learn from the experiences of his fellow countryman.

1.jpg
It has been an eagerly awaited first bout for Germain.

Germain says he is anticipating a tough test against the 34-year-old Little, but insists he is ready to make a positive start in his first professional outing.

“He’s very experienced but we’re fully prepared for the task we have come Saturday night.

“I’ve been putting everything into this and I’m going to get a win to get the ball rolling.

“I’ve got a few sponsors on board and am training with several other talented and young prospects.

“In terms of boxing, I’m in the best place that I can be and I want people to join me on my journey.”

 

Leave a comment