Caerphilly man raises £1,500 for Help for Heroes

A man from Caerphilly has raised more than £1,500 for charity after completing a 150-kilometre challenge on an exercise bike.

Wayne Anderson, from Hendredenny, cycled 93 miles, the equivalent of travelling from Cardiff to Worcestershire, in aid of Help for Heroes.

The avid Cardiff City and Wales supporter, known as ‘Dibs’, initially set out to raise £900 for the charity which is close to his heart.

But he surpassed the £1,500 mark after receiving support from colleagues and customers at Debenhams in Cardiff, where he has worked as a menswear sales manager for 17 years.

89840229_138469254221469_2882214602291019776_n
Wayne ‘Dibs’ Anderson outside the retail store in Cardiff

The 52-year-old spent five-and-a-half hours completing the challenge outside the retail store in St David’s Centre, burning more than 4,000 calories in the process.

“My dad served for our country for 22 years and I have some close friends who have too, so it’s a charity close to me,” said Anderson.

“And Debenhams have always supported Help for Heroes. I enjoy exercise and I thought it was a good way to raise money.”

A keen gym-goer, Anderson also plays football for Penybont Veterans and regularly trains at Bridgend’s Energie Fitness, who supplied the exercise bike free of charge for the challenge.

89122793_1637002806450364_6817460180884652032_n
Anderson with his Debenhams colleague, Mary Dawkins

He was supported throughout the duration of the event by his colleague, Mary Dawkins, who helped raise £700 towards the total figure through a bucket collection.

“I had been building up my fitness ahead of the event, so I was confident I could complete the ride,” he added.

“The support was amazing from customers, staff and the general public.

“A lot of people passing were telling me stories of their personal experiences connected to the force.

“The great thing was I managed to raise nearly double my target.”

Leave a comment